Awarded for the first time in 1963 to encourage epilepsy research in Germany, today the MICHAEL-PRIZE is one of the most highly regarded international awards for the best contributions to experimental and clinical research which promote further developments in epileptology.


The MICHAEL-PRIZE is awarded biennially and is specifically addressed to younger researchers
not older than 45 years of age. The prize money is 20.000,- Euro.

Since 2006 the MICHAEL-PRIZE is kindly sponsored by UCB International.


The MICHAEL-PRIZE will be awarded for research in one of the following fields:

  • Clinical neurophysiology
  • Neuropsychology, Psychology and Psychiatry
  • Neuroimaging

MICHAEL-PRIZE 2017 Award Winner

The Michael-Prize 2017 was awarded to
Boris Bernhardt (Kanada).

The applications submitted will be rated by an independent jury consisting of:

Heidrun Potschka, Munich, Germany
Matthias Koepp, London, United Kingdom
Yushi Inoue, Shizuoka, Japan

The final decision will be taken by the Board of Trustees of the Michael Foundation; legal recourse is excluded.